Monday, 24 August 2009

You say vegan, I say...?

"When I see bacon, I see a pig, I see a little friend, and that’s why I can’t eat it. Simple as that."
– Paul McCartney

Whenever, I hear the word "vegan", I think of Paul (grouchy) McCartney. I have nothing against him being a vegan or him being an admirable animal rights activist, but I do not like what I read about some of his idiosyncrasies which I could not fathom.

I prefer the term "vegetarian" (although I am a temporary one). There are different categories of vegetarianism:

Vegetarian - Someone who makes it a practice to not eat fish, flesh or fowl or their by-products.

Vegan - Someone who eats no animal products whatsoever, including dairy and eggs and usually including honey. Often, vegans will not wear animal products, such as shoes made from leather.

Lacto vegetarian – Similar to vegans, with the exception that they will eat dairy.

Ovo-lacto vegetarian - Similar to vegans, except that they will eat both dairy and eggs. (The word ovo comes from the Latin for egg, while the word lacto comes from the Latin for milk).

Pesectarian – Not really a vegetarian, but a person who follows a vegetarian diet with the exception that they will eat fish.

In conclusion, I should be classified as an Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian. So be careful. Do not anyhow call yourself a Vegan if you are not.


  1. i wonder if there's the term "part-time" vegetarian, meaning, you go vegetarian on certain days only...

  2. Haha, I think most Buddhists like us, would be part time vegetarian on certain days. Like my grandma is vegetarian everyday morning till noon, and full vegetarian on lunar 1st and 15th of the month.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...